Dillon Carlsson

// saxophone, flute


Jaz Munro

// vocals, guitar


Zac Page

// drums


Tom Hilliar

// trumpet


Glen McClymont

// percussion, vocals


Dan Bowland

// bass


The Ninth Chapter possess a powerful ability to groove. Layering elements of funk, blues and folk, the Australian six-piece revel in exciting songwriting that takes listeners on a diverse musical journey. With over a decade of touring and three EP's to their name, the band launched their first full-length album early 2019 with tracks What's Going to Happen Next and Smoke Stack taking out Blues and Funk/Urban Songs of the Year in the NCEIA Dolphin Music Awards.

As an amazing live outfit The Ninth Chapter are renown for pairing its heavy groove with thumping horns, but on record the group sculpt a vast landscape of sounds, moods and tempos - a definitive representation of where The Ninth Chapter's musical evolution has taken them. Led by Jaz Munro’s bluesy vocals and slinky guitar, the album is a showcase of The Ninth Chapter's dynamic sound: the driving rhythm section of bassist Daniel Bowland and drummer Zac Page, the expansive percussion of Glen McClymont, and the richly layered horn section of Dillon Carlsson and Tom Hilliar.

With the band proudly committing to a non-digital recording process with Geoff Wright at Lucky Boy Analogue studios in Byron Bay, The Ninth Chapter presents the group in all their glory – from the broad spectrum of genres they span, to their irrepressible live energy. It is a true reflection of their journey thus far. But beyond all else, The Ninth Chapter is a band about mateship... the kind of brotherhood that feeds creativity – both collectively and for the individuals within it. This more than anything provides the chemistry that makes the band's debut album so true to their hearts.

Festival Appearances: Blues on Broadbeach (2019), Bello Winter Music (2017, 2015), Cool Summer Festival 2016, Woodford Folk Festival (2011, 2014), Wollombi Music Festvial 2014, Caloundra Music Festvial 2011, Surfing the Coldstream 2014,  Dunoon Bluestomp 2013, Bellingen River Festival 2013, Open Arms Festival 2008

Releases:  2019 - The Ninth Chapter (self titled album). Recorded with Lucky Boy Analogue Studios, Byron Bay. "What's going to Happen Next" and "Smoke Stack" taking out Blues and Funk/Urban Songs of the Year in the 201 NCEIA Dolphin Awards.


                    2015 "EP3o" EP recorded and mixed with Dave Atkins @ Hydrophunk records Mullumbimby .
                    2014  ":Mogadishu EP".- Recorded at Meridian Receiver Studios in the Byron Bay Hinterland with Sam Bartlett and mastered with David Acosta @ Hydrophunk.

                     2011's "Common Ground EP" - Recorded with Pete Dyball and mastered with Studios 301 Sydney.

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now